Eurovision Song Contest winners Johnny Logan and Shay Healy welcomed home.

On 19 April 1980 Johnny Logan won the Eurovision Song Contest in The Hague, Netherlands with Shay Healy's song 'What’s Another Year’.

Supporters were at Dublin Airport to welcome home the Eurovision winners. Minister of State at the Department of Transport, Padraig Flynn, was also in attendance to congratulate the victorious duo.

As Champagne bottles are popped, Johnny explains his plans for the future.

On Wednesday I do Top of the Pops. On Friday I go to Germany. And on Saturday I do the Val Doonican Show... That’s just for starters.

Shay Healy also commented

It’s very emotional. It’s very rewarding.

The winning song went on to become a hit all over Europe and took the number one slot in the UK charts. In 1984 Johnny wrote the winning song ‘Terminal 3’ performed by Linda Martin and in 1987 he went on to win again with the self-penned song ‘Hold Me Know’.

An RTÉ News report broadcast on 21 April 1980. The reporter is Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill.