The Young Scientist of the Year winners are three students from Bray for their work on the mathematical properties of regular polygons.

Straight from a ceremony in Dublin's RDS, overall winners of the Esat Young Scientist of the Year competition Shane Browne, Peter Taylor and Michael O’ Toole make an appearance on 'The Late Late Show’.

The fifth year students at St Killian’s Community School in Bray, County Wicklow beat off stiff competition with their winning project ‘Investigating symmetrical shapes formed by polygons’. 

We proved that all regular polygons can be arranged in a circular pattern.

The winning project was suggested to them by their teacher Patrick Quill and the young scientists have nothing but praise for their mentor. To their knowledge this work has not been published before. While it is advanced,

Really it’s just algebra and geometry, it looks more complicated than it is.

Their project has a practical application in the field of computational geometry.

Shane Browne, Peter Taylor won the best group prize and an award for excellence in the 2000 Young Scientist of the Year competition. Michael O’ Toole joined the duo to perform the drawings for the 2001 project using technical graphics and computer-aided design (CAD).

Shane Browne was always confident in their project, but he never considered it they would be the overall winners in the competition. Along with the Esat Trophy and £1,000 prize money for their project, the students will be participating in the 13th European Young Scientists' Competition in Bergen, Norway. This completion will involve 58 projects, drawn from 27 European countries.

This episode of ‘The Late Late Show’ was broadcast on 12 January 2001. The presenter is Pat Kenny.