For the first time since 1928 and for only the second time in history Sligo are Connacht football champions.

Following a draw Sligo and Mayo met at McHale Park in Castlebar for the replay of the 1975 Connacht Football Final. At half time the Mayo men held a two point lead. Early after the resumption full back Seamus Reilly fouled Sligo forward Michael Kearins who scored from the resulting penalty. A fisted effort from Willie McGee came back off the crossbar before a point was scored to leave Mayo ahead again 0-12 to 1-08.

The decisive score came when Sligo's Des Kerins got onto a breaking ball and finished to the back of the net. Sligo were able to hold on to win the Connacht Championship for the first time since 1928. 

The final score was Sligo 2-10 Mayo 0-15    

Highlights shown here are taken from 'Sports Scene' broadcast 20 July 1975. The commentator is Liam Campbell.