Polling Stations around Ireland opened at 7am for fifteen hours of voting in the 2011 Presidential Election.

As well as appointing a new president, there are also two refernda on judicial pay and Oireachtas investigations. In Dublin West, there is also a Dáil by-election to fill the seat following the death of Brian Lenihan TD. 

President Mary McAleese along with her husband Martin were among the first to vote at St Mary's Hospital in the Phoenix Park. The seven candidates for the presidency were also at polling stations. Mary Davis, Sean Gallagher, Michael D Higgins, Gay Mitchel, David Norris, and Dana Rosemary Scallon all cast their votes in their respective polling stations.  However, Martin McGuinness was the only candidate unable to cast a vote as he lives in Derry. 

Over 3.1 million people are entitled to vote.

An RTÉ News report by David McCullagh broadcast on 27 October 2011.