The ornate eighteenth century coach of the Lord Mayor of Dublin has been restored and will now be used in parades and ceremonies.
Dublin's mayoral coach, a splendidly ornate vehicle which first graced the streets of the capital in 1791 has been returned to its original glory by a team of twelve expert craftsmen.
Built by William Whitton of Dominick Street, it is just over 7 metres in length, a roomy 2.4 metres wide and 3.5 metres in height, and replaced an older coach which had been donated to the Lord Mayor of Dublin by the Marquess of Kildare in the late 1750s.
Showcasing the high standard of workmanship employed by Dublin's thriving coach building industry in the eighteenth century, it cost £2,600 and required four matched horses to pull it.
Restored three times in the nineteenth century, it was last seen in public during the Eucharistic Congress in 1932, and was in storage until last year when Dublin Corporation decided to restore it.
An RTÉ News report broadcast on 27 February 1976. The reporter is Dermot Mullane.