The third annual Meteor Music Awards take place at the Point Depot in Dublin.

Mary Calpin met the stars as they arrived to walk the orange carpet. They included Sharon and Jim Corr, Westlife, Alabama 3, Samantha Mumba, Lady Victoria Harvey, and Big Brother winner Brian Dowling. All eyes were on Dublin actor Colin Farrell and his new friend 'Party Boy' star of MTV's Jackass. 

The ceremony was hosted by comedian Dara Ó Briain with actors Colm Meaney and Stephen Rea amongst the stars presenting awards. It was down to Colin Farrell to present Bono with the Humanitarian Award for his work combating the Aids epidemic in Africa. Bob Geldof received a Lifetime Achievement Award, while Phil Coulter won the Industry Award.

Performances on the night came from Irish pop group 'Six', Tom Jones, Alabama 3, The Thrills, Samantha Mumba, Westlife and Sineád O'Connor

Westlife (2003)
Westlife (2003)

This year's award winners were decided entirely by the Irish public who voted by text.

An RTÉ News report broadcast on 3 March 2003. The reporter is Mary Calpin.