After weeks of speculation the judges have named the winners of the RTÉ 'Popstars' series. However the final band line up was missing one member.

At a press conference to launch the winners of the reality talent show, five members of the new band 'Six' were revealed to the press.

Kyle Anderson from Belfast, Sinéad Sheppard from Cork, Andy Orr from Dublin, Emma O'Driscoll from Limerick and Liam McKenna from Tyrone, make up five of the six members. The sixth member will be announced to the public next week. Nadine Coyle lost her place in the band when it was discovered that she was below the prescribed age of 18. Commenting on the departure of her former band mate Sinéad Sheppard says

At the time we were upset that Nadine had to leave.

Taoiseach Bertie Ahern was in attendance at the Guinness Storehouse for the band launch. Kevin Linehan, commissioning editor at RTÉ, comments on how the show 'Popstars' served the needs of viewers aged between 15 and 24 on RTÉ One.

Commenting on their potential success, band manager Louis Walsh says

I think their first record is going to be the biggest Irish record this year. Can't miss. Huge. Mighty.

An RTÉ News report broadcast on 13 January 2002. The reporter is Colm Connolly.