Thousands turn out in Dublin to celebrate the 'Day of Welcomes' as the European Union has its largest expansion. All kinds of sights and sounds turned out to celebrate.

15 existing members, 10 new members and 3 pre-accession countries are all represented at the 'Day of Welcomes' on 1 May 2004 in celebration of being European.

The 2004 enlargement of the European Union was the largest single expansion of the European Union. The simultaneous accessions concerned the following countries: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Ireland held the EU Presidency at the time and commemorations and celebrations took place across the country to mark the occasion.

This report shows celebrations in Merrion Square, Dublin where thousands turned out to welcome the new EU states. Music and food from through out the European Union were available for all.