A look at life in Latvia through the eyes of Latvians. 'Eastlink' visits Riga, the capital of Latvia, and examines the diversity of nationalities and degrees of social and cultural integration.

Upon arriving in Riga, presenters Donal O'Herlihy and Katriona McFadden chat about what they know about Latvia in terms of history, geography, and politics. They also meet some locals who discuss their diverse backgrounds, the Russian population living in Latvia, and European integration.

Latvia has the first woman President of any former Soviet State country, Vaira Vike-Freiberga, who Katriona refers to as 'The Mary Robinson of Latvia'.

Latvia joined the European Union in 2004.

The 2004 enlargement of the European Union was the largest single expansion of the European Union. The simultaneous accessions concerned the following countries: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.