The National Lottery and RTÉ bring viewers Winning Streak a new game show for television on Friday nights.

If you're lucky enough to get three stars on a lottery card, you are in with a chance of a place on the National Lottery's new game show with a jackpot prize of £250,000.

Each week, the winning names are announced live on air and the winning ticket holders appear on the show the following week.

A game show unlike any other.

The draw takes place in front of an independent observer from Stokes Kennedy Crowley. 

In this excerpt from the opening show, MIke explains how you can be in with a chance of winning and introduces the first five contestants who are all hoping to win big money and maybe even get a chance to spin the wheel.

Winning Streak Contestants (1990)
The first Winning Streak contestants - Brigid, Ann, Ita, Kathleen, Tommy (1990)

This first episode of 'Winning Streak' was broadcast on 21 September 1990. The presenter is Mike Murphy.

Mike Murphy on Winning Streak
Mike Murphy on Winning Streak (1997)

Mike Murphy selects the winning tickets for next week's show (1997)

Winning Streak was presented by Mike Murphy from 1990 to 2001. Since 2001 presenters have included Derek Mooney, Katheryn Thomas, Aidan Power, Dáithí Ó Sé and Gerri Maye. Síle Seoige, John Creedon and Brian Ormond have all been stand-in presenters.

'Winning Streak' is now presented by Marty Whelan and Sinead Kennedy.