Celebrity contestants to compete in a special version of the 'You're A Star' reality show.

The lineup of eight contestants includes actors, presenters, beauty queens and even a TD.

Each contestant will be trained by Adele King (Twink) and scrutinised by judges Louis Walsh, Linda Martin and Brendan O'Connor. The show will be hosted by Derek Mooney.

No trembling or timidity for this bunch of You’re A Star hopefuls.

What makes this version of the show different is that there will be no record deal or prize money for the winner. Amanda Brunker, David Mitchell, Finian McGrath, Natasha Nic Gairbheith, Liam McCormack, Síle Seoige, Alan Shortt, and Geri Maye will battle it out to raise money for charity.

The competition for the You’re A Star crown will begin on 2 August.

An RTÉ News report broadcast on 21 July 2005. The reporter is Anna Murphy.