A lament for when Castlecomer held the title of the tidiest town in Ireland.

The national Tidy Towns competition was established by the Irish Tourist Board (now Fáilte Ireland), in 1958 as part of the 'Tostal', a nationwide festival celebrating all things Irish.

From the programme 'Hall's Pictorial Weekly'. Frank Kelly provides the verse regretting the loss by Castlecomer of the tidy towns title. Kiltegan, County Wicklow was the overall winning town in 1973. A full list of winning towns over the years can be found on.

This episode of 'Hall's Pictorial Weekly' was first broadcast on 2 June 1973.

For more from 'Hall's Pictorial Weekly' see the clip 'Exact Dead Centre of Ireland' from the History of RTÉ exhibition.