In a thrilling end to the hurling final Wexford finish stronger to beat Cork and keep the Liam McCarthy cup for another year.

At half time Wexford were ahead by four points a lead they extended to seven points early in the second half. Cork fought back with goals from Christy Ring and Paddy Barry. With ten minutes remaining another Ring point put the Rebel county ahead for the first and only time in the game. 

In this commentary for Radio Éireann Michael O'Hehir describes the action during the closing minutes as Wexford take control. A point form Nicky Rackard gives Wexford a two point lead. Moments later Rackard is on hand again to score a goal following a pass by Tom Ryan. A point from Tom Dixon leaves the final score Wexford 2-14 Cork 2-08. On the final whistle commentator Michael O'Hehir announces that,

The All Ireland Champions of 1956 are Wexford. Yes Wexford have won the title and well Croke Park has gone stark staring mad.  

All Ireland Hurling Final broadcast 23 September 1956. The commentator is Michael O'Hehir