Fianna Fáil leader Albert Reynolds is re-instated as Taoiseach and announces his new cabinet under the new coalition government.

When Charles Haughey resigned in 1992, Albert Reynolds became leader of Fianna Fáil and was voted in as Taoiseach. Just a year later, following a general election, Mr Reynolds was appointed Taoiseach for a second time.

After his election as Taoiseach, Mr Reynolds travelled to Áras an Uachtaráin to receive his seal of office from President Mary Robinson. His next formal task was the announcement of his cabinet.

Mr Reynolds lead his new ministers into Dáil Éireann. The Ministers were appointed to existing departments until four new departments are put in place. The new coalition cabinet consists of nine Fianna Fáil and six Labour Ministers. 

Taoiseach - Albert Reynolds (FF)
Tanaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs - Dick Spring (Lab)
Minister for Finance - Bertie Ahern (FF)
Minister for Social Welfare - Michael Woods (FF) 
Minister for Justice - Máire Geoghegan Quinn (FF)
Minister for Enterprise and Employment - Ruairi Quinn (Lab)
Minister for Environment - Michael Smith (FF)
Minister for Defence and Marine - David Andrews (FF)
Minister for Agriculture, Food and Forestry - Joe Walsh (FF)
Minister for Tourism and Trade - Charlie McCreevy (FF)
Minister for Transport, Energy and Communications - Brian Cowen (FF)
Minister for Equality and Law Reform - Mervyn Taylor (Lab)
Minister for Arts, Culture and the Gaeltacht - Michael D Higgins (Lab)
Minister for Health - Brendan Howlin (Lab)
Minister for Education - Niamh Breathnach (Lab)

The Taoiseach told the Dáil that the new government was a partnership with both parties working together to advance the welfare and prosperity of the nation. 

After announcing the new cabinet, the Taoiseach announced that a radical overhaul of government departments would take place as part of the next government. 

An RTÉ News report broadcast on 12 January 1993. The reporter is Donal Kelly.