78,033 were in Croke Park to watch Dublin beat Kildare ending a seven year wait to win the Leinster football title.

If the football was not always at the highest level, the excitement was when Dublin and Kildare went toe to toe in the Leinster Football Final. With 53 minutes gone a mistake by Dublin substitute Darren Magee was pounced on by Tadhg Fennin who scored his second goal of the game to give Kildare the lead 2-08 to 0-12. Yet in one minute of play that two-point lead became a four-point deficit after goals from Alan Brogan and Ray Cosgrove.

The excitement continued to the closing minute where at one end Dublin had a goal disallowed and the other Stephen Cluxton was preventing Tadhg Fennin scoring his third goal of the game. Dublin held out to win the county's first Leinster Football title since 1995. The 78,033 attendance on the day was a record for the Leinster Final and the largest crowd in Croke Park for a football game since the 1963 All Ireland Football Final.   

The final score was Dublin 2-13 Kildare 2-11. 

The Sunday Game broadcast 14 July 2002.

The commentators are Marty Morrissey and Martin Carney.