The Leinster football final between great rivals Dublin and Meath was played in glorious sunshine at Croke Park before a crowd of 63,000.

Dublin and Meath had developed a keen rivalry in Leinster having faced each other in seven finals in the previous ten years and the famous four game saga of 1991.

Surprisingly in 1995 considering the recent close battles between the two teams Dublin emerged victors with a winning margin of 10 points to take their fourth successive title in Leinster.

Meath got off to a flying start with a point from John McDermott after 15 seconds. By the end of a tough first half Dublin lead by four points with Dessie Farrell and Charlie Redmond contributing five of Dublin's eight scores.

A goal six minutes into the second half from Evan Kelly brought Meath level and a Graham Geraghty point put the Royal county ahead for the first time. Three unanswered points saw Dublin go ahead again before a punched Paul Clarke goal in the 58th minute provided a six point lead and the platform to finish out the game.

Jason Sherlock's second half contribution to the occasion included a point and planting a kiss on the cheek of match referee Pat Casserly.  

The final score was Dublin 1-18 Meath 1-08.   

Highlights are taken from The Sunday Game broadcast 30 July 1995. The commentators are Ger Canning and Mick O'Dwyer.