After the inauguration the new President met with dignitaries at Áras an Uachtaráin.

On 19 December 1974 Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh was sworn in as the 5th President of Ireland. Following the inauguration at Dublin Castle, President O'Dálaigh is pictured arriving at Áras an Uachtaráin where he receives a host of dignitaries.

This RTÉ News footage shows the arrival of the dignitaries who included James Tully, Patrick Donegan, Patrick Cooney, Mark Clinton, Conor Cruise O'Brien, Peter Barry, Dick Burke, Justin Keating, Former President Éamon de Valera, Frank Aiken, John A. Costello, Declan Costello, Cardinal William Conway, Dr. George O'Simms, Dr. Alan Buchanan, Dr. Dermot Ryan Archbishop of Dublin, Dr. Isaac Cohen Chief Rabbi, and Seán MacBride.

Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh resigned as President of Ireland in 1976 following a clash with Liam Cosgrave's government.

An RTÉ News report broadcast on 19 December 1974.

Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh