The GAA President, Paddy Buggy, unveiled a plaque honouring Michael Cusack, Founder of the Gaelic Athletic Association.

The 'Teams of the Century' banquet was attended by An Taoiseach Dr. Garret Fitzgerald, Fianna Fail leader Charles Haughey, and Jack Lynch. Also in attendance were GAA players Enda Colleran of Galway, Tony Reddin of Tipperary, Sean Flanagan of Mayo, Paddy O'Brien of Meath, Eddie Keher of Kilkenny, Stephen White of Louth.

A plaque was unveiled on the wall of the 'Dergvale' Hotel in Gardiner Place, Dublin from which Michael Cusack wrote the letter which led to the first meeting of the GAA in Thurles in 1884.

A RTÉ News report by Kieron Wood from 22 September, 1984.