The IFTA Film and Drama Awards took place at Dublin's Mansion House on Thursday night, with Saoirse Ronan, John Connors, Victoria Smurfit and Liam Cunningham taking home acting awards and prison drama Michael Inside winning Best Film.

Oscar nominee Saoirse Ronan won Best Actress: Film for her performance in Lady Bird, with John Connors winning Best Actor: Film for Cardboard Gangsters.

The searing Michael Inside, which is released in Irish cinemas on April 6, saw off the challenge of Cardboard Gangsters, Handsome Devil, The Killing of a Sacred Deer, Maudie and Song of Granite to win Best Film.

Dafhyd Flynn in Michael Inside

Michael Inside had previously won Best Irish Film at the Galway Film Fleadh and the Audience Award at the Cork International Film Festival.

Screen legend Gabriel Byrne was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was presented to him by President Michael D Higgins.

A standing ovation for Gabriel Byrne as President Michael D Higgins presents him with the Lifetime Achievement Award

Speaking to RTÉ Entertainment on the IFTA red carpet, 67-year-old Byrne said: "It's emotional in the sense that I'm looking at more than just work. 

"I'm looking at quite a few things: family, friends, my own particular journey emotionally through that time, and thinking of people who aren't here, who have passed on."

We need your consent to load this Facebook contentWe use Facebook to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Martin McDonagh's Oscar-nominated Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and director Aisling Walsh's artist biopic Maudie each won three film awards on the night. The wins included Best Director for Walsh and Best Screenplay for McDonagh.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri continued its awards momentum with IFTAs for Best International Film, Best Screenplay (Martin McDonagh) and Best International Actress (Frances McDormand, pictured)

The award for Best Actor: Drama went to Cillian Murphy for his work on the series Peaky Blinders, with Caitriona Balfe winning Best Actress: Drama for Outlander.

Caitriona Balfe - Back home to receive her Best Actress award

Victoria Smurfit won the Best Supporting Actress award in the film categories for her performance in The Lears.

Best Supporting Actress winner Victoria Smurfit

Liam Cunningham was named Best Supporting Actor in the television categories for his work on Game of Thrones and also celebrated the HBO show winning Best Drama. 

Liam Cunningham was honoured for his work on Game of Thrones

Charlie Murphy won Best Supporting Actress in the television categories for Peaky Blinders, with Barry Keoghan winning the Best Supporting Actor: Film award for The Killing of a Sacred Deer.

Best Supporting Actor: Film winner Barry Keoghan

Highlights from the awards will be on RTÉ One on Saturday at 10:45pm.

Click here to see the guests and glamour on the red carpet.

IFTA Film and Drama Awards - The Winners:

Best Film
Michael Inside

Best International Film
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Drama
Game of Thrones

Lifetime Achievement Award
Gabriel Byrne

Best Actress: Film
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Actor: Film
John Connors, Cardboard Gangsters

Best Director: Film
Aisling Walsh, Maudie

Best Actress: Drama
Caitriona Balfe, Outlander

Best Actor: Drama 
Cillian Murphy, Peaky Blinders 

Best Director: Drama 
Dearbhla Walsh, Fargo

Best Supporting Actor: Film
Barry Keoghan, The Killing of a Sacred Deer 

Best Supporting Actress: Film
Victoria Smurfit, The Lears

Best Supporting Actor: Drama
Liam Cunningham, Game of Thrones

Best Supporting Actress: Drama
Charlie Murphy, Peaky Blinders

Best International Actress 
Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best International Actor
Ethan Hawke, Maudie

Rising Star Award
Jacob McCarthy, The Drummer and the Keeper

Casting Director Award
Ros Hubbard

Best Scriptwriter: Film 
Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Scriptwriter: Drama 
Conor McPherson, Paula 

George Morrison Feature Documentary Award 
The Farthest 

Best Live Action Short Film

Best Animated Short Film
Late Afternoon

Best Cinematography 
Seamus McGarvey, The Greatest Showman 

Best Editing
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, Three Girls

Best Original Music
Stephen McKeon, Pilgrimage

Best Sound
Steve Fanagan & Kieran Horgan, The Farthest

Best VFX
Tailored Films & Bowsie Workshop, The Lodgers

Best Production Design
John Hand, Maudie

Best Costume Design
Consolata Boyle, Victoria & Abdul 

Best Make-Up & Hair
Clare Lambe & Sevlene Roddy, Into the Badlands