Saoirse Ronan has continued her awards season momentum ahead of this weekend's Golden Globes by receiving the Best Actress honour at the New York Film Critics' Circle Awards for her performance in Lady Bird.

The New York award winners were first announced last month, and at the ceremony at the TAO Downtown restaurant in the city on Wednesday night Ronan was joined by Lady Bird writer-director Greta Gerwig, who was receiving the award for Best Film.

New York-born Ronan was previously honoured by the city's film critics two years ago for her performance in Brooklyn.

She is nominated in the Best Actress - Musical or Comedy category at Sunday night's Golden Globes for her role as Christine 'Lady Bird' McPherson in Gerwig's Oscar-tipped coming-of-age story.

Earlier this week she received the Desert Palm Achievement Award at the Palm Springs Film Festival Gala in California.  

Ronan told the Associated Press at the Palm Springs ceremony that she will be wearing black at the Golden Globes in solidarity with those who have been sexually harassed.

Saoirse Ronan at the Palm Springs Film Festival Gala

"I'm bringing one of my best friends with me and she'll be wearing black also," said Ronan. 

"The relationships between women are so strong when you have them and it's about time that we get to experience that in our industry, too, you know?"

The Golden Globes will be shown on RTÉ2 on Monday night, January 8, at 9.30pm, with red carpet arrivals from 9pm.

Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird

The New York Film Critics' Circle Awards - The Winners:

Best Film: Lady Bird  

Best Director: Sean Baker, The Florida Project

Best First Film: Get Out

Best Actor: Timothee Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Best Actress: Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project

Best Supporting Actress: Tiffany Haddish, Girls Trip

Best Screenplay: Phantom Thread, Paul Thomas Anderson

Best Cinematography: Mudbound, Rachel Morrison

Best Foreign Language Film: BPM (Beats per Minute)

Best Documentary: Faces Places

Best Animated Film: Coco

Special Award: Molly Haskell