Galway hold out against Tipperary to retain their All Ireland Hurling title.

With just two minutes remaining in normal time, Galway led Tipperary by just two points. Galway goalkeeper John Commins on his knees managed to get to the ball before Cormac Bonnar and prevent a goal. The resulting sixty-five was put wide with Tipperary feeling they needed a goal. Yet seconds after the restart it was substitute Noel Lane who pulled on a ball driving it to the net for the only goal of the game and giving Galway a five point lead. Tipperary were awarded a penalty in the closing seconds which Nicky English blasted over the bar.

Conor Hayes accepted the Liam McCarthy cup as Galway were All Ireland Hurling Champions for a second year running. 

The final score was Galway 1-15 Tipperary 0-14. The highlights shown here are taken from the live broadcast of the All Ireland Hurling Final broadcast 4 September 1988. The commentator is Ger Canning.