Euphoria at Portmarnock as John O'Leary holds on to win the Irish Open.

After a seven year wait, the Irish Open Golf winner had an Irish winner again as John O'Leary finished with a final round of 73 to leave him at one under par for the tournament. O'Leary was the only player in the field to finish under par. English man Maurice Bembridge finished second. Veteran Christy O'Connor Senior finished joint third with Greg Norman and Nick Faldo.

John O'Leary made par on the final hole to secure victory to the delight of the 28,000 in attendance at Portmarnock. John O'Leary's wife Ingrid and caddy Colin 'Bowie' Johnson celebrated on the 18th green.

First prize for the new Irish Open Champion John O'Leary was £16,000.

The clip here is taken from Carroll's Irish Open Highlights broadcast on 16 August 1982. The commentators are Fred Cogley and Roddy Carr.