Heaney joins shortlist to win overall Whitbread Book of the Year.

Seamus Heaney was announced as the winner of the Whitbread Poetry Award for his version of the Anglo-Saxon epic poem 'Beowulf' on 6 January 2000. This meant he was now on the shortlist to win the overall Whitbread Book of the Year, which he had already won for his 1996 collection 'The Spirit Level'. Heaney also won the 1987 Whitbread Poetry Award for 'The Haw Lantern'.

Colm Connolly reports on the announcement. Heaney has beaten his old friend Ted Hughes, the late British poet-laureate, who had been in the running to win three Whitbread Book of the Years in a row. Heaney speaks of his working relationship with Hughes, who he has dedicated 'Beowulf' to. 

An RTÉ News report from 6 January 2000.

Beowulf Book by Seamus Heaney