skip to main content
Article Header Image

Britain is scheduled to leave the European Union on 29 March

23 June 2016

The UK votes for Brexit in the EU referendum by 51.9% to 48.1%, prompting then-prime minister David Cameron to resign and be replaced by Theresa May. 

17 January 2017

Theresa May May gives a speech at Lancaster House setting out the Government's 12-point "Plan for Britain" and her negotiating red lines, ruling out membership of the EU's single market and customs union. 

13 March 2017

Britain's parliament gives final approval to a bill empowering Mrs May to trigger Article 50 of the EU treaty which lays out the process for leaving the union. 

8 June 2017

After calling a snap general election to increase her authority, Theresa May loses her parliamentary majority and has to make a deal with the DUP to stay in power.

The issue of British guarantees to keep an open border between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland after Brexit becomes a key sticking point in negotiations. 

13 December 2017

Rebel Tory MPs inflict a major defeat on the Government, forcing them to guarantee the Commons a vote on the final Brexit deal. 

15 December 2017

Two days later the first part of the negotiations is completed after a deal is reached on the "divorce bill", and the so-called Northern Irish "backstop" is first agreed upon. 

2 March 2018

Theresa May gives her second big Brexit speech, this time at Mansion House, outlining her "five tests" for the UK's future economic partnership with the EU.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said he was concerned that she did not fully recognise the implications of leaving the EU's customs union and single market. 

19 March 2018

A draft Withdrawal Agreement is published, which Michel Barnier and David Davis call a "decisive step" in the Brexit process, setting out the transition period, citizens' rights and plans for fishing. 

6 July 2018

After The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill becomes law at the end of June, Mrs May takes her Cabinet to Chequers to sign off a collective position for the future Brexit negotiations with the EU. 

9 July 2018

Brexit Secretary David Davis resigns over the so-called "Chequers Plan" to be replaced by Dominic Raab, with Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson following him out of Cabinet several days later. 

12 December 2018

In response, enough discontented Tory MPs write letters of no confidence to reach the threshold for a vote in her leadership, which she wins by 200 to 117 the following day. 

19 December 2018

The European Commission starts implementing its "no deal" Contingency Action Plan, covering 14 areas where UK withdrawal without a deal would create "major disruption for citizens and businesses" in the remaining 27 EU states. 

9 January 2019

After returning from the Christmas break, MPs begin five days of debate on the PM's deal. 

14 January 2019

Donald Tusk and European Commission president Jean-Claude Juncker release a letter offering "clarifications" to the withdrawal agreement.

Braced for a crushing defeat in the Commons, the PM warns Tory MPs that opposing her risks handing the keys of No 10 to Jeremy Corbyn. The House of Lords votes 321-152 in opposition to her deal.