Kerry see off Cork to take the provincial title after extra time in Munster football final replay.

It took extra time in the Munster football final replay for Kerry to beat Cork and take the provincial crown back to the Kingdom. Over 45,000 were packed into Páirc Uí Chaoimh to see the great Munster football rivals go head to head again after a draw two weeks earlier. 

Cork led at half time by 1-09 to 1-06. A period of second half Cork domination began when a miscued short kick out from Kerry goalkeeper Paudie O'Mahoney was picked up by Cork forward Jimmy Barry Murphy who finished to the back of the net. Seven points and sixteen minutes after the break, Kerry supporters must have been worried. The Kerry players however chipped away at the Cork lead and were four points behind with just five minutes to go.

Following another foul, Mikey Sheehy opted to pass a close in free to Sean Walshe whose shot beat Cork goalkeeper Billy Morgan but was caught by defender Brian Murphy on the goal line. Referee John Moloney judged that the ball had crossed the line and the goal stood leaving just a point between the teams.

Cork must have thought they had recovered when Declan Barron punched the ball to the net but the goal was disallowed.

In the final minute, Pat Spillane raced in on goal before punching the equalising point for Kerry. Mikey Sheehy thought he had kicked the winning score but the referee had already blown for full time with the sides level. Even then there was confusion as to what the result was among spectators and on the scored board. 

The score at the end of normal time was Kerry 3-13 Cork 2-16.

Extra time was riddled with fouls and wides as players from both teams tired. Kerry proving to be the better team going on to record a four point victory. 

The final score was Kerry 3-20 Cork 2-19

The Munster Football Final replay was broadcast on the 25 July 1976. The commentator is Mick Dunne.