Businessman Gavin Duffy has secured a nomination to contest the Presidential Election after receiving the support of four local authorities.

Waterford Council voted to endorse Mr Duffy's bid for the Áras, joining local authorities in Meath, Carlow, Wicklow.

He secured 14 votes, with two votes for Gemma O'Doherty and one abstention.

Speaking following his nomination, Mr Duffy said it was great to receive cross-party support from Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, Labour and independent councillors in Waterford.

He said he was "looking forward to now going out and being able to state my case to the people to go forth and be elected President of Ireland."

Mr Duffy is the third candidate to receive the support of local authorities to enter the race, joining fellow Dragons' Den investor Seán Gallagher and Senator Joan Freeman.

Both Mr Gallagher and Ms Freeman were endorsed by local authorities earlier this week.

Sinn Féin has also indicated it will nominate a candidate, with the selected individual expected to be announced this weekend.

A sitting president can nominate themselves to seek a second term and President Michael D Higgins has already indicated that he intends to run.

Presidential election hopefuls must secure the support of four local authorities or 20 TDs and senators to stand in the election.

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences


Presidential Election: Tallies

  • Michael D Higgins: To nominate himself
  • Seán Gallagher: Five endorsements from Roscommon, Mayo, Leitrim, Wexford, Cavan
  • Joan Freeman: Four endorsements from Cork City, Fingal, Galway County, Galway City
  • Gavin Duffy: Four endorsements from Waterford, Meath, Carlow, Wicklow

Seeking endorsements: Peter Casey, William Delaney 1957-1970, Patrick Feeney, John Groarke, Patrick Melly, Marie Goretti Moylan, Sarah Louise Mulligan, Gemma O'Doherty, Kevin Sharkey, James Smyth