Extra time needed in the Munster Hurling Final replay to separate Tipperary and Cork.

Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney staged a dramatic finish to a marathon Munster Hurling Championship. The 1987 championship featured three games that went to a replay including the final between All Ireland champions Cork and Tipperary.

After 70 minutes of the replay, the teams still could not be separated finishing level on 1-17. Cork led after the first period of extra time 1-21 to 1-20. A Pat Fox free early in the second half of extra time had the sides level again. A Donnie O'Connell point on the break gave Tipperary the lead for the first time in the game. It was two goals from substitute Michael Doyle that would turn the game in Tipperary's favour. The tiring Cork team still managed to create one more chance but when John Fenton failed to score a goal from a 21 yard free their grasp on the Munster title was gone. 

A Donnie O'Connell goal meant Tipperary supporters could breath again. After 170 minutes of play over two games the final whistle meant the end of a 16 year wait for a Munster title for Tipperary and the start of joyful celebrations.

The final score was Tipperary 4-22 Cork 1-22.

Highlights shown here are from The Sunday Game broadcast 19 July 1987. The commentator is Ger Canning.