James Ryan has been ruled out of Ireland's final Guinness Six Nations match against Scotland.

The second row failed a head injury assessment after a collision with Charlie Ewels in the second minute of Ireland's 32-15 win over England on Saturday. The Bath lock was sent off for the challenge.

"James Ryan will not be considered for selection this week and his return to rugby protocols will be supervised by the Leinster medical team," the Irish Rugby Football Union said in a statement this afternoon.

There was further bad news for Andy Farrell in that department with Ryan Baird, who had started the Italy game in the second row, also ruled out with a back injury.

Tadhg Beirne and Iain Henderson, who replaced Ryan at Twickenham, will be likely to start in Saturday’s game at the Aviva (4.45pm), where Ireland could win the Triple Crown or even the championship should France slip up against England later.

Leinster locks Ross Molony and Joe McCarthy, both uncapped, have been called into the squad as cover.

Molony has been involved in Ireland squads since the summer of 2021 while McCarthy, a former Ireland U20 player, made his Leinster debut against Cardiff in January having impressed for Dublin University in the Energia AIL.

Ross Molony (l) and Joe McCarthy

Ulster trio Robert Baloucoune, Nick Timoney and Mike Lowry all return after lining out in the URC against Leinster at the weekend.

Meanwhile, Murphy Walker and Jordan Edmunds have been handed their first Scotland call-ups.

Glasgow prop Walker and Scotland Sevens player Edmunds are joined by Fraser Brown and Scott Cummings in being added to the squad.

Kiran McDonald, Glen Young and Duhan Van Der Merwe have returned to their clubs.

Widening the net: Irish rugby striving to diversify talent pool

We need your consent to load this comcast-player contentWe use comcast-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

BACKS (16)
Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 36 caps
Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen) 2 caps
Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 31 caps
Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 11 caps
Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 5 caps
Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 30 caps
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 16 caps
Mack Hansen (Connacht) 3 caps
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 56 caps
James Hume (Ulster/Banbridge) 3 caps
Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 19 caps
James Lowe (Leinster) 11 caps
Michael Lowry (Ulster/Banbridge) 1 cap
Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 95 caps
Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 41 caps
Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary's College) 104 caps (capt)

Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 22 caps
Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 29 caps
Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 26 caps
Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) 2 caps
Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 16 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 56 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 115 caps
Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 6 caps
Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 67 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 25 caps
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 47 caps
Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen) uncapped
Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin) uncapped
Ross Molony (Leinster/UCD) uncapped
Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 83 caps
Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 6 caps
Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 2 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 4 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 39 caps

Follow Ireland v Scotland via our live blog on rte.ie/sport and on the RTÉ News App or listen to live radio coverage on RTÉ Radio 1. Highlights on Against the Head, Monday 8pm.

Additional reporting: PA