Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney, who is currently in Washington DC, has summoned the Russian ambassador to Ireland to Iveagh House tomorrow.

Ambassador Yury Filatov will meet the Secretary General of the Department of Foreign Affairs.

The Government has not received a full list of the 52 Irish politicians and officials sanctioned by Russia.

It follows a precedent in other EU states where lists of those hit with travel bans by Russia have not been published in full.

The Taoiseach told the Fianna Fáil Parliamentary Party meeting tonight that the Government would not be deflected by Russia's actions which he described as propaganda.

It comes after Russia banned entry to Taoiseach Micheál Martin, and more than 50 other top officials, in response to Western sanctions over Ukraine.

Among those listed are Tánaiste Leo Varadkar, Mr Coveney and Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe, as well as a number of other key officials and politicians.

The Russian foreign ministry said the measures against the 52 figures were taken following Ireland's support of EU sanctions against Russia.

"Acting under orders from Brussels, Ireland is conducting an aggressive anti-Russian propaganda campaign," said a foreign ministry statement.

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

The statement said Ireland has been seeking to curtail bilateral cooperation with Moscow.

Russia also demanded an apology in March after a man drove a truck through the gates of its Dublin embassy to protest against the war.

Western capitals have slapped Russia with a slew of unprecedented sanctions over its offensive in pro-Western Ukraine.

A statement from Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said: "In response to the anti-Russian course of the Irish Government, which unconditionally supports the unilateral restrictive measures introduced by the European Union against Russian citizens aimed at attempts to isolate our country internationally, a decision was made to include 52 key representatives of the leadership and politicians of Ireland in the Russian "stop list".

"The list of Irish citizens who are no longer allowed to enter the Russian Federation includes, in particular, Prime Minister M Martin, his deputy L Varadkar, Chairman of the Dáil (lower house of parliament) S Ó Fearghaíl, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Defence S Coveney, Minister of Justice H McEntee, Minister of Finance P Donohoe, as well as a number of senators and deputies of the lower house of parliament.

"Acting under the dictation of Brussels, Ireland is conducting an aggressive anti-Russian propaganda campaign, a course has been taken to curtail bilateral cooperation to the detriment of its own interests.

"One of the consequences of fueling Russophobic hysteria in Irish society was the attack on the Russian Embassy in Dublin in March of this year.

"With regard to our other measures, we will be guided by the position of Dublin."

The Taoiseach told the Dáil that the news that he is being sanctioned by Russia "is a new development", adding: "I don't think I've ever been sanctioned before."

Mr Martin thanked Fine Gael TD Neale Richmond for "alerting" him to the fact, which he said was part of a "broader propaganda war being waged by Russia".

Mr Richmond said Russia's move was "absolutely disgraceful" and called for the closure of the Russian embassy with its "so-called diplomats".

"I think cool heads are always required in situations like this," Mr Martin added.

Mr Varadkar said that he was sanctioned because he is "a member of a Government and citizen of a county that is standing four square behind Ukraine", adding that he is "not sure" if he has ever been sanctioned by a government before.

"Ukraine is an independent, democratic, European sovereign country that has been invaded and Russia is the aggressor here, Ukraine is the victim and I'm proud of the fact we are standing behind Ukraine," the Tánaiste added.

Sinn Féin TD Ruairí Ó Murchú has described the move by Russia to impose the sanctions as an "affront to democracy". He said that Ireland needs the Russian ambassador "to take his journey home".

Meanwhile, Independent TD Cathal Berry said that there were only four Irish diplomats in the embassy in Moscow and he saw no reason why the number of Russian diplomats in Dublin should not be reduced to four.

Additional reporting: Brian O'Donovan, AFP