The Government has nominated five Circuit Court judges, two solicitors and one senior counsel for appointment by the President to the High Court.

Circuit court judges Carroll Moran, Mary Faherty, Tony Hunt, Ray Fullam, Carmel Stewart, solicitors Donald Binchy and Robert Eagar and SC Robert Haughton have been nominated.

The vacancies arose after eight High Court judges were appointed yesterday to the newly-established Court of Appeal.

The appointment ceremony of the judges to the High Court will take place in Áras an Uachtaráin later today.