Dublin act For Those I Love has been nominated for an Ivor Novello Award for his song Top Scheme, while Irish band Fontaines D.C. has been nominated for a Best Album award for their second album, A Hero's Death.

For Those I Love is Dublin musician, singer and spoken word artist David Balfe and he has won universal acclaim for his self-titled debut album, which paints an unflinching portrait of love, loss, confusion, nostalgia and pain.

He'll be vying for the prestigious honour against Future Utopia feat. Dave & Es Devlin (Children Of The Internet), Ashnikko (Daisy), Pa Salieu feat. Mahalia (Energy), and Rachel Chinouriri (Give Me A Reason).

Fontaines D.C., are competing with Lianne La Havas' self-titled album, Pa Salieu's Send Them to Coventry, Laura Marling's Song For Our Daughter, and Tom Misch + Yussef Dayes's What Kinda Music.

Galway-born composer and conductor Eimear Noone has also been nominated with fellow composer Craig Stuart Garfinkle for Best Original Film Score for Two By Two: Overboard!.

They are up against Black Mass for Calm With Horses, Anne Nikitin for Four Kids and It, Adam Janota Bzowski for Saint Maud, and Daniel Pemberton for The Trail of the Chicago 7.

Elsewhere in this year's Ivor Novello nominations, former One Direction star Harry Styles and Kid Harpoon lead the nominations.

Eimear Noone

The pair, who have co-written on multiple tracks, have notched up three nominations in two categories at the awards, which recognise creative musical achievement in songwriting and composition.

The Grammy and Brit award-winning song Watermelon Sugar and Adore You, part-written by Styles and Harpoon, are both nominated for PRS for Music Most Performed Work.

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

The tracks also face competition from Brit award winner Lewis Capaldi’s Before You Go and Someone You Loved, and the number one record Head & Heart from Joel Corry and MNEK.

Musician Styles and Harpoon are also nominated in the Songwriter of the Year category which this year features five nominees, including AJTracey, Celeste and Jamie Hartman, Kamille and MNEK.

The awards, which represent peer recognition in the music community, are honouring new talent with 70% of nominees being recognised for the first time.

Arlo Parks, who won Best New Artist at the Brit awards 2021, picks up her first nomination for Black Dog in the Best Song Musically and Lyrically category.

She faces competition from Brit Rising Star 2020 winner Celeste for her track Stop This Flame and one of Marina’s, formerly Marina and the Diamonds, comeback tracks Man’s World.

Headie One & Fred again’s track Gang and God’s Own Children performed by Obongjayar are also nominated.

Pa Salieu, who was crowned BBC Sound of 2021, is also nominated for two awards for Best Album with Send Them to Coventry and Best Contemporary Song for Energy featuring Mahalia.

Also nominated for Best Album is Lianne La Havas for her self-titled album with her co-writer Matthew Hales. She was last nominated nine years ago for her debut album.

Shaznay Lewis, Ivor Novello award winner and chair of The Ivors Awards committee, said: "Over the last year we’ve felt the power of songwriting and the stories told through music.

"The Ivors are so important because they celebrate where all the music begins – with songwriters and composers.

"The judges have chosen a selection of exceptional music that moves, unites and inspires us.

"Congratulations to all our nominees and I’m really delighted that the majority are recognised with an Ivor nomination for the first time."

Winners will be announced on September 21.

Click here for more music news