The Academic, Niall Horan, Soulé and Wyvern Lingo are among the nominees for this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Song of the Year 2017 with the winner decided by the public.

The prize will be launched tonight at Tramline, Dublin with a live broadcast on 2FM from 8.00pm to 10.00pm featuring exclusive performances from some of the Song of the Year nominees.

The shortlist:

The Academic - Bear Claws (ROOM6 Records)

Áine Cahill - Plastic (Self Released)

Chasing Abbey - That Good Thing (Self Released)

Tandem Felix - Were You There (When they Crucified the Birthday Boy)? (Self Released)

Niall Horan - Slow Hands (Capitol)

Gavin James - I Don't Know Why (Warner Music)

Dermot Kennedy - Glory (Self Released)

The Script - Rain (Sony Music)

Wyvern Lingo - I Love You Sadie (Rubyworks)

Soulé - Good Life (Diffusion Labs)

To vote for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Song of the Year 2017, visit Votes are limited to one per person per day. Only votes cast in the Republic of Ireland will be counted. Voting closes at midnight on Sunday, March 4.

Previous winners of the Choice Song of the Year have included Royseven with We Should Be Lovers, The Original Rudeboys with Never Gonna Walk Away, and last year’s winner, Picture This with Take My Hand.

Once again, RTÉ 2FM is celebrating the announcement of the shortlist across its schedule on Wednesday with All Irish Music All Day from 6.00am to midnight. 

The winning song will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 8th March. Tickets are on sale now from Ticketmaster and usual outlets: