Aosdána, the affiliation of creative artists in Ireland, officially elected 12 new members on Tuesday, October 13th. 

The 12 new members include: Kevin Barry (Literature), Gerard Byrne (Visual Art), Pat Collins (Visual Art), Jim Doherty (Music), Margo Harkin (Visual Art), Martin Lynch (Literature), Gina Moxley (Literature), Valerie Mulvin (Architecture), Mairead O'hEocha (Visual Art), Arthur Riordan (Literature), Liz Roche (Choreography), Jennifer Walshe (Music). 

Originally founded in 1981, Aosdána honours artists whose work has made an outstanding contribution to the creative arts in Ireland and assists members in devoting their energies fully to their art. 

Today, Aosdána, the affiliation of creative artists in Ireland, has elected 12 new members.

For full details see:

— Aosdána (@Aosdana) October 13, 2020

Aosdána was originally collaboratively formed by the Arts Council and the Government following an Arts Council survey in 1979 on the living and working conditions of artists at the time. 

Artists can become elected members of Aosdána through a process of peer nomination and election, with membership being limited to 250 living artists who have produced a distinguished body of work. 

Choreographer Liz Roche was among those elected to the Aosdána
Choreographer, Liz Roche was among those elected to Aosdána

Aosdána membership currently stands at 249 members, with a tie between candidates to secure the last available place - a postal ballot will be arranged to determine the outcome. 

For more information, click here