South Africa have made three changes, including a full debut for Leicester number eight Jasper Wiese, for the critical second Test against the British and Irish Lions.

Head coach Jacques Nienaber has reacted to the 22-17 defeat at Cape Town Stadium last Saturday by replacing the ineffectual Kwagga Smith with Wiese, who came on as a replacement against Georgia on 2 July.

And there are two adjustments to the front row with only hooker Bongi Mbonambi surviving as the Springboks give starts to props Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe.

Ox Nche, one the starting props for the first Test, has been ruled out by a neck problem but Mbonambi continues after recovering from a hamstring issue.

South Africa have opted for a six-two split on the bench, which includes Saracens tighthead Vincent Koch.

Marco van Staden takes over from Rynhardt Elstadt as back row cover alongside Smith.

Lions on front foot after winning tactical battle

"This is a massive game for us – it's do or die in order to stay in the race to win the series," Nienaber said.

"We have selected a team that offers continuity in selection, but also one that we thought would be the best suited to achieve the objectives we have set for this match.

"We disappointed ourselves last week, and we all know how important it is to bounce back with a strong performance and show our fighting spirit and pride as a team and nation."

Earlier, Lions coach Warren Gatland named his team, which also included three changes, including a recall for Conor Murray.

South Africa: W Le Roux (Toyota Verblitz); C Kolbe (Toulouse), L Am (Cell C Sharks), D De Allende (Munster), M Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks); H Pollard (vice-captain, Montpellier), F De Klerk (Sale); S Kitshoff (DHL Stormers), B Mbonambi (DHL Stormers), F Malherbe (DHL Stormers), E Etzebeth (Toulon), F Mostert (Honda Heat), S Kolisi (Cell C Sharks, capt), PS Du Toit (DHL Stormers), J Wiese (Leicester).

Replacements: M Marx (Kubota Spears), T Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls), V Koch (Saracens), L De Jager (Sale), M van Staden (Vodacom Bulls), K Smith (Yamaha Jubilo), H Jantjies (DHL Stormers), D Willemse (DHL Stormers).

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences