Waterford v Clare, Walsh Park, 2pm
Cork v Tipperary, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, 4pm

Live blogs on RTÉ.ie and the RTÉ News Now app from 6.45pm on Saturday and from 1.30pm on Sunday

Both games are live on RTÉ2 and the RTÉ Player. Highlights of all the weekend’s action on The Sunday Game on RTÉ2 and the RTÉ Player from 9.30pm.

Live commentary on Sunday Sport on RTÉ Radio 1

 Overcast, but dry and with light breezes from the east. High temperature of 11 degrees.
Sunday: Sunny and dry with occasional cloudy spells, moderate breezes from the southeast and maximum temperature of 13 degrees.

Ah, marvellous Munster. Few things in sport live up to the hype and mythology but the provincial championship certainly did in its first season under the round-robin format last year.

The top three of five teams will advance but who they will be is anyone's guess. Three epic draws last time out - Tipperary 2-20 Cork  1-23, Cork 1-25 Limerick 0-28, and Waterford 2-22 Tipperary 2-22 - underlined just how closely matched the teams are.

All-Ireland and Allianz Hurling League champions Limerick are favourites to top the table but then Tipp were favourites last year and didn't win a game.

The manic schedule of four games in four weeks that hampered Waterford and Tipperary last year will not be repeated - there will be a break week after round 2 on 19 May. Limerick sit out this weekend.

Sheedy's second coming

How Liam Sheedy would love a repeat of his first Championship in charge. In 2008, Tipperary beat Cork in Cork for the first time in 85 years.

The 2010 All-Ireland winning manager is back for a second stint but Munster is looking a lot more competitive than it was a decade ago.

John Meyler's reigning champions haven't lost a game in the province since 2016 though they did let big leads slip against both Tipp and Limerick (AlI-Ireland semi-final) last year.

Neither side particularly impressed in a League campaign with more room to experiment than usual but Tipp were 13-point winners when the teams clashed in the final round of Division 1A fixtures at Pairc Ui Rinn.

John Meyler has handed a championship debut to corner back Niall O'Leary, a two-time county championship winner with Imokilly and a Munster U21 champion from 2018.

Brendan Maher starts his first game for Tipperary since injuring his cruciate ligament against Clare in the county's final game of 2018.

Michael Duignan's verdict: "The Premier County have only won three out of 12 Championship and League matches, yet I think the return of Liam Sheedy is huge for them. He has shown great loyalty to his panel. They have been very quiet and I think he brings a ferocious desire to it.

"There is an emotional connection between the manager and the team and I am expecting a ferocious backlash from them.

The teams are meeting in the championship for the 87th time, with Tipperary leading 39-38 in wins. There have also been eight draws.

Cork: Anthony Nash; Sean O’Donoghue, Eoin Cadogan, Niall O’Leary; Christopher Joyce, Tim O’Mahony, Mark Coleman; Darragh Fitzgibbon, Bill Cooper; Daniel Kearney, Seamus Harnedy, Luke Meade; Conor Lehane, Patrick Horgan, Shane Kingston

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Seán O'Brien; Brendan Maher, Ronan Maher, Padraic Maher; Noel McGrath, Michael Breen; Niall O'Meara, Séamus Callanan, Patrick Maher; John O'Dwyer, Jason Forde, John McGrath.

2018: Tipperary 2-20 Cork 1-23 (Munster)
2017: Cork 2-27 Tipperary 1-26 (Munster quarter-final)
2014: Tipperary 2-18 Cork 1-11 (All- Ireland semi-final)
2012: Tipperary 1-22 Cork 0-24 (Munster semi-final)
2011: Tipperary 3-22 Cork 0-23 (Munster quarter-final)

Home sweet home for Deise

Championship hurling returns to Walsh Park for the first time since 2003 in what is expected to be a sellout.

Waterford endured a difficult campaign last year: a lengthy injury list, playing 'home' games in Limerick and Thurles, and a 'phantom goal' awarded to Tipperary all took their toll as they finished with just one point from four games.

Optimism will have been restored after a run to the League final in Páraic Fanning's first season in charge though the comprehensive manner of their defeat to Limerick at Croke Park may temper it somewhat.

Stephen Bennett scored 0-16 (14f) as Waterford hammered Clare 0-31 to 1-14 in the League semi-final at this venue, though the team that ran Galway so close last year will surely up their game tomorrow.

Fanning has made two changes to the team which lost the league final to Limerick at the end of March. Michael 'Brick' Walsh drops to the bench with Conor Gleeson returning in midfield while Abbeyside's Conor Prunty replaces Callum Lyons, who impressed against Galway in the league semi-final, at full back. 

Clare have named Colm Galvin at centre back in place of Conor Cleary, with Cathal Malone moving into midfield. The returning David Fitzgerald is named in Malone's vacated spot at wing back.

The forward line sees three changes with Dairmuid Ryan replacing Aidan McCarthy, while, as expected, the star power of Shane O'Donnell and John Conlon returns to the full forward line in place of Gary Cooney and Aron Shanagher. 

Michael Duignan: "Waterford hammered Clare in the League earlier this year, but that’s not going to happen this time around, though the Banner will be missing Conor Cleary through suspension and Jamie Shanahan through injury. Waterford’s physicality and strength could win the day."

This will be the 32nd championship meeting between the counties, with Clare leading 16-11 while there have been four draws.

Waterford: Stephen O'Keeffe; Shane McNulty, Conor Prunty, Noel Connors; Philip Mahony, Tadhg de Burca, Kevin Moran; Jamie Barron, Conor Gleeson; Austin Gleeson, Mikey Kearney, Pauric Mahony; Shane Bennett, Stephen Bennett, Peter Hogan.

Clare: Donal Touhy; Patrick O'Connor, David McInerney, Jack Browne; Seadna Morey, Colm Galvin, David Fitzgerald; Shane Golden, Cathal Malone; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Diarmuid Ryan; Shane O'Donnell, John Conlon, Podge Collins.

2018: Clare 2-27 Waterford 2-18 (Munster)
2016: Waterford 1-21 Clare 0-17 (Munster semi-final)
2013: Clare 2-20 Waterford 1-15 (Munster quarter-final)
2012: Waterford 2-17 Clare 1-18 (Munster semi-final)
2010: Waterford 0-22 Clare 1-15 (Munster semi-final)