Connacht SFC quarter-finals
New York v Mayo, Gaelic Park, 2.15pm (7.15pm Irish time)
London v Galway, Ruislip, 3pm

Live blogs on RTÉ.ie and the RTÉ News Now App from 2.30pm and 6.45pm on Sunday.

Highlights of both games on RTÉ.ie and the RTÉ News Now App.

Updates on London v Galway and live commentary of New York v Mayo on RTÉ Radio 1's Sunday Sport.

Reports on RTÉ News bulletins

Just like home. New York: Showers with highs of 12C. London: Overcast but dry with highs of 12C.

Rejoice inter-county football fans. The barren month of April is over and, though the weather may disagree, summer has arrived - the football Championship is back.

As is customary, the season begins with the Connacht quarter-finals among the diaspora - this year, the rotation dictates that it's Mayo making the trip to New York and Galway to London.

Any tickets?

Much of the pre-match discussion around the game in the Bronx has focused on the demand for tickets from Mayo's ever-enthusiastic followers.

Just 4,500 are available but many more fans are believed to have travelled over - optimism they can challenge for Sam Maguire restored in the wake of a first Allianz Football League title since 2001.

"If there are 10,000 people going over then there are going to be 5,500 of them at the malls, they won’t be at the match, it’s as simple as that," Connacht GAA secretary John Prenty told the Mayo News last week.

New York have yet to win since joining the Championship in 1999 but took Leitrim to extra time last year and in 2003.

In 2016, an Exiles side featuring Galway hurler Johnny Glynn - who still trains with the team - gave Roscommon a fright before the visitors escaped with a single-point win.

This year, manager Justin O’Halloran can call on the likes of Cathal Compton (ex-Roscommon),  Sean Hurley (Kildare) and captain Niall Madine (Down). There are also six American-born players on the panel.

Mayo are still without the O'Connor brothers and Seamus O'Shea but anything other than a comfortable win and a place in the semi-final against Roscommon or Leitrim would be a massive shock.

Returning manager James Horan gives Championship debuts to three players: James McCormack, Matthew Ruane and James Carr.

Previous Championship Meetings
1999: Mayo 3-13 New York 0-10
2004: Mayo 3-28 New York 1-08
2009: Mayo 2-19 New York 0-10
2014: Mayo 4-18 New York 0-08

Mayo: Robert Hennelly; Chris Barrett, Brendan Harrison, Keith Higgins; Patrick Durcan (captain) Lee Keegan, James McCormack; Matthew Ruane, Aidan O’Shea; Evan Regan, Jason Doherty, Fergal Boland; Kevin McLoughlin, Darren Coen, James Carr.

New York: Vinny Cadde; Michael Creedon, Gerard McCarten, Robert Gorman; Paddy Boyle, Michael Naughton; Matthew Queenan, Cathal Compton; Sean Hurley, Shane Hogan, Luke Kelly; Daniel McKenna, David Freeman, Niall Madine, Peter Hatzer.

Read next: Why London and New York matter, the exiles' perspective

London calling

London have never got closer than 10 points to Galway and would be doing well to end that record against the reigning provincial champions in McGovern Park - they haven't won a Championship game since the fairytale run to the Connacht final in 2013 and finished bottom of Division 4 in the League.

However, Kevin Walsh will need no reminding that Mayo were similarly strong favourites in 2011 in James Horan's first game in charge and just about managed to force extra time

John Daly, Antoine O’Laoi and Padraic Cunningham will all make their Championship bows for Galway.

Ian Burke and Liam Silke are the only members of the eight strong All-Ireland club winning contingent from Corofin who start.

London GAA secretary, treasurer and half-forward Mark Gottsche lines out against his home county while London native Liam Gavaghan captains the side.

Sligo await the winners.

Last five Championship meetings
2014: Galway 3-17 London 0-7 
2009: Galway 1-18 London 1-7
2004: Galway 8-14 London 0-8
1999: Galway 1-18 London 1-8 
1994: Galway 2-21 London 0-6

Galway: Rory Lavelle; Eoghan Kerin, Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh, David Wynne; Liam Silke, John Daly, Gary O’Donnell; Tom Flynn, Michael Daly; Antoine O’Laoi, Padraic Cunningham, Johnny Heaney; Ian Burke, Shane Walsh, Danny Cummins.

London: Gavin McEvoy; Philip Butler, Matthew Moynihan, Conor O’Neill; David Carrabine, Michael Clarke, Eoin Flanagan; Anthony McDermott, Liam Feerick; Mark Gottsche, Liam Gavaghan, Barry Tully; Conor Doran, Fearghal McMahon, Killian Butler.