Wexford County Board has confirmed that Seamus McEnaney will succeed David Power as manager of the senior footballers on a three-year term.

The former Monaghan and Meath manager will take the reins after Power stood aside following two years in charge.

The three-year period is subject to a review after year two.

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

McEnaney took charge of his native Monaghan for six years and resigned as Meath manager in 2012 after three years in charge when a loss to Dublin in the Leinster final was followed by defeat in the qualifiers six days later at the hands of Laois.

Last year was a disappointing season for the Yellowbellies as they failed to earn promotion from Division 4 after relegation in 2015. They also bowed out of Leinster with a narrow one-point defeat to Kildare.

They then exited in the first round of the qualifiers when Fermanagh left Wexford Park victors on a 0-19 to 1-11 scoreline.

In the 2017 Championship draw, Wexford have been pitted against Carlow with the winners facing the daunting challenge of reigning Leinster and All-Ireland champions Dublin.