Paul Givan has been nominated to replace Arlene Foster as Northern Ireland's First Minister.

The Lagan Valley MLA, who entered politics as a researcher for Edwin Poots as a 17-year-old, was expected to be the choice and will take over the role next week.

The new DUP leader has been naming his Stormont ministerial team, who will take up their new roles on
Monday 14 June.

Mr Poots also announced two new ministers in MLAs Paul Frew and and Michelle McIlveen.

Mr Frew, the MLA for North Antrim and who acted as Mr Poots' campaign manager in the DUP leadership contest, replaces Diane Dodds as Economy Minister.

Ms McIlveen, MLA for Strangford in Co Down, is set to replace Peter Weir as Education Minister.

Mr Poots earlier announced the names of chairs and vice chairs of Assembly committees.

Gordon Lyons, a current junior minister, was the first of the old guard under Ms Foster to be axed from his role.

He has been named as vice chair of the Health Committee.

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Who is Paul Givan? MLA set for top job at Stormont

Revealing Mr Givan as first minister designate, Mr Poots paid tribute to Ms Foster, thanking her for the "excellent work" she had done.

Mr Givan said: "There is a huge responsibility that comes with this position, particularly in serving the people of Northern Ireland."

Mr Poots also named Gary Middleton as junior minister.

The ministerial roles will be designate at this stage, with the appointments post-dated to take effect from Monday.

Ms Foster had previously indicated that she will stand down when Mr Poots names a new ministerial team.

But Mr Poots said she will remain as First Minister to lead a British-Irish Council meeting in constituency of Fermanagh on Friday.

The DUP leader named his new team flanked by the new appointments and deputy party leader Paula Bradley.

They include Christopher Stalford as principal deputy speaker and vice-chairman of the standards and privileges committee, Tom Buchanan as vice chairman of procedures, Keith Buchanan as vice chairman of the finance committee and Gordon Lyons as vice chairman of the health committee.

Mr Poots also announced David Hilditch as vice chairman of the infrastructure committee and William Irwin as vice chair of the audit committee.

Pam Cameron will become chairwoman of the assembly and executive review committee.

North Antrim MLA Mervyn Storey has been appointed as chairman of the justice committee and Jonathan Buckley will take up the role as chair of the infrastructure committee.

DUP deputy leader Ms Bradley has been appointed as chairwoman of the Communities Committee and William Humphreys is chairman of the Public Accounts Committee.

The new appointments come as the DUP has been hit by a number of resignations.

South Down DUP constituency association chairman and councillor Glynn Hanna, his daughter Diane Forsythe, association member Richard McKee, and councillor Kathryn Owen all announced their resignations this week.

The latest to quit is Upper Bann association member Roberta McNally.

Additional reporting PA