Micheál Martin has been appointed as Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs under a reshuffle of the Cabinet while Simon Coveney is moving to the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment.

Today's mid-term switch of taoisigh prompted the Cabinet reshuffle.

Michael McGrath will take on the Finance portfolio with Paschal Donohoe taking over the Department of Public Expenditure, NDP Delivery and Reform.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said he changed the name of the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform to the Department of Public Expenditure, NDP Delivery and Reform because, "too many important public capital projects are taking far too long".

"I want this Department to bring about a step change when it comes to the execution and delivery of the National Development Plan - Project Ireland 2040," said Mr Varadkar.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan remains in the Department of Environment, Climate, Communications and Transport.

Norma Foley also remains in Education while Catherine Martin will remain in the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.

Darragh O'Brien will continue in Housing, Local Government and Heritage while Heather Humphreys keeps Social Protection, Rural and Community Development.

Stephen Donnelly will continue in Health while Charlie McConalogue will stay in Agriculture, Food and the Marine.

Roderic O'Gorman will continue at the Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth.

Simon Harris will take on the Justice portfolio as well as the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science for a period. Helen McEntee is currently on maternity leave but will return as Minister for Justice afterwards.

Hildegarde Naughton has been appointed as the new chief whip.

Rossa Fanning has been appointed as Attorney General.

Jack Chambers becomes a super junior Minister at the Department of Transport while Senator Pippa Hackett has been appointed a Minister of State for Land Use and Biodiversity at the Department of Agriculture.