The Garda Commissioner has decided that seven garda stations are no longer to operate as divisional headquarters under his new operational policing plan.

The restructuring programme, which will reduce the number of Garda divisions from 28 to 19, is being introduced on a phased basis.

However, the amalgamation of the existing four border divisions into two will not commence until there is further clarity on Brexit.

Roscommon, Sligo, Monaghan, Navan in Co Meath, Naas in Co Kildare, Bray in Co Wicklow and Thurles in Co Tipperary have lost their status as Garda divisional headquarters.

These seven counties will also no longer have their own chief superintendents.

A number of chief superintendents will also lose their positions as divisional commanders and although some will take up newly created posts as regional chief superintendents, it is as yet unclear what their duties will be and what the other chief superintendents will do.

Commissioner Drew Harris said operational factors had been considered when deciding where the new regional and divisional headquarters would be including population, geography, workload and crime trends.

The number of Garda regions is also being reduced from six to four which will make each one of them larger for each of the four assistant commissioners in charge of them.

The headquarters for the border region will now be in Galway and will cover an area from Donegal to Louth and include the non-border counties of Mayo, Roscommon and Longford.

Commissioner Harris says the restructuring will deliver more resources, increased garda visibility and more localised and specialist services.