Dublin city councillors have unanimously agreed to honour Dublin football manager Jim Gavin with the Freedom of the City following his five-in-a-row All Ireland achievement.

It follows a nomination by Lord Mayor Paul McAuliffe and was backed by all the group leaders on the council.

Dublin beat Kerry in the All-Ireland senior football final on 14 September, bringing the Dublin team's wins to five in a row.

Lord Mayor McAuliffe said there was no explanation needed for the honour given Mr Gavin's incredible achievement.

He said Mr Gavin had been both reluctant and honoured when told about the move. He was reluctant because he would prefer to share it with the team.

"We are asking James to take one for the team here," said the Lord Mayor.

The conferring of the honour will take place at a later date.

Mr Gavin will be the second Dublin GAA manager to receive the award following Kevin Heffernan's conferring in 2004, former Ireland soccer manager Jack Charlton received the honour in 1994.

Other recipients of the honour have included U2, Brian O'Driscoll, Fr Peter McVerry, Bill Clinton and Nelson Mandela.