The Government has nominated Ms Justice Mary Finlay Geoghegan for appointment to the Supreme Court.

There are currently three vacancies in the Supreme Court following the death of Mr Justice Adrian Hardiman in March 2016 and the retirements of Ms Justice Mary Laffoy and Ms Justice Susan Denham.

Judge Finlay Geoghegan was appointed to the High Court in 2002 and to the Court of Appeal in 2014.

Mr Justice Paul Gilligan, who currently serves in the High Court, has been nominated to replace Judge Finlay Geoghegan on the Court of Appeal.

Two senior counsels have also been selected for positions on the High Court.

David Barniville SC has been nominated to replace Ms Justice Margaret Heneghan, who retired last month.

Michael MacGrath SC has been nominated in principle to replace Mr Justice Henry Abbott, who is due to retire next month.