Taoiseach Micheál Martin is holding his first Cabinet meeting in Dublin Castle tonight after the new members of Government were formally appointed and received their seals of office from President Michael D Higgins.

Earlier today, he unveiled details of the new coalition Cabinet during a sitting of the Dáil in Dublin's Convention Centre. He has also revealed his 11 nominees for the Seanad.

The three party leaders carved up the 15 cabinet seats in a six-six-three Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael-Green Party split, with two Ministers of State (so-called "super juniors") also sitting at the table.

What the Cabinet looks like now

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin was elected Taoiseach earlier today while Leo Varadkar is the new Tánaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment.

Stephen Donnelly (FF) is the new Minister for Health.

Darragh O'Brien (FF) has been given the Housing, Local Government and Heritage portfolio.

Barry Cowen (FF) is the new Minister for Agriculture and the Marine.

Norma Foley (FF) is the new Education Minister.

Michael McGrath (FF) is the new Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform.

Paschal Donohoe (FG) remains as Minister for Finance.

Helen McEntee (FG) is the new Justice Minister.

Simon Coveney (FG) remains Minister for Foreign Affairs and also takes on Defence.

Eamon Ryan (Greens) will be the Minister for Climate Action, Communication Networks and Transport.

Catherine Martin (Greens) will be Minister for Media, Tourism, Arts, Culture, Sports and the Gaeltacht.

Roderic O'Gorman (Greens) will become Minister for Children, Disability Equality and Integration.

Heather Humphreys (FG) is the new Minister for Social Protection, Community & Rural Development and the Islands.

Simon Harris (FG) will be Minister for Higher Education, Innovation and Research.

Hildegarde Naughton (FG) will be a Minister of State at the Department of Climate Action attending Cabinet.

Pippa Hackett (Greens) will be a Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture attending Cabinet.

Dara Calleary (FF) is Government Chief Whip and Minister of State attending Cabinet.

Paul Gallagher is Attorney General.

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Who is in the Seanad?

Taoiseach Micheál Martin today revealed his 11 nominees to Seanad Éireann. He has also advised the President to convene the first meeting of the new Seanad this Monday, 29 June. 

Regina Doherty (outgoing Minister for Social Protection and former Fine Gael TD for Meath East) will be the new leader of the Seanad.

The remaining nominees are Mary Fitzpatrick (FF Dublin councillor), Erin McGreehan (FF Louth County councillor), Timmy Dooley (former FF TD for Clare), Aisling Dolan (FG Galway County councillor), Emer Currie (a running mate in Dublin West for Leo Varadkar in the last election), Mary Seery Kearney (FG South Dublin County councillor), Vincent P Martin (Green Party councillor for Kildare), Róisín Garvey (Green Party councillor for Clare) and Eileen Flynn (a Travellers' rights activist).

Outgoing senator for Fianna Fáil, Lorraine Clifford-Lee, was also re-nominated to the Seanad.

Who is departing the Cabinet?

Fine Gael's Joe McHugh has confirmed he is leaving his post as Minister for Education. He thanked Leo Varadkar for the "opportunity to serve" and said " we achieved a lot, I wish the new government every success."

He concluded by tweeting "an rud is annamh is iontach" - what is rare is wonderful.

Outgoing Minister for Culture, Heritage & Gaeltacht Josepha Madigan tweeted: "It has been a privilege to serve as Minister for Culture, Heritage & the Gaeltacht. I wish my successor (Catherine Martin) the very best in her new role. Go n-éirí an bóthar leat." 

Communications Minister Richard Bruton has lost his Cabinet post. He said on Twitter that it had been "a privilege to serve under four Taoisigh - Garret, John, Enda and Leo. We have helped deliver huge changes in Irish society during that time and there is still so much more for the 33rd Dáil to achieve".

Outgoing Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan tweeted congratulations to his successor, Helen McEntee. "I wish her every success and best wishes."

He said he had enjoyed six busy years in "two of the great departments, Justice and Foreign Affairs" and thanked all the staff and officials who had helped him along the way.

Another ministerial casualty of the new Cabinet is ex Agriculture Minister Michael Creed. He tweeted: "I wish Barry Cowen and Pippa Hackett the very best in their new roles." He said it had been a privilege to work at the Department "representing our great sector".

Former Minister for Social Protection Regina Doherty, who lost her Fine Gael seat in the last election, told RTÉ's 6.1 News that it was a day of "mixed emotions" for her "but I want to wish the new Taoiseach and all of the Cabinet every success in the months and years ahead."

She has now been announced as the new leader of the Seanad.

Dublin Bay South TD Eoghan Murphy is out as Minister for Housing along with Wexford's Paul Kehoe (Defence) and Mayo TD Michael Ring (Rural Affairs).

Three ministers who lost their seats in the February election - Shane Ross (Sport), Mary Mitchell O'Connor (Higher Education) and Katherine Zappone (Children) - have also departed Leinster House.

Independent TD Finian McGrath decided not to stand for election in 2020 - he had been Minister For Disability Issues in the 32nd Dáil.

Simon Harris is no longer Minister for Health but will remain in Cabinet as the new Minister for Higher Education, Innovation and Research.

He tweeted: "It has been the greatest honour to serve as Health Minister. We didn't get everything right but I worked alongside the most dedicated people. Together we repealed the 8th, passed public health alcohol act, set up Slaintecare plan & tried to keep our country safe through #Covid19.

"I wish my successor Stephen Donnelly every good wish. And I am excited about my new role creating a brand new Department of Higher Education, Innovation & Research. So much to do it and I approach it with enthusiasm and energy."

Additional reporting: Aisling Kenny and David Murphy.