An Oireachtas committee investigating the voting practises of four Fianna Fáil TDs has not reached a decision today. 

The Dáil Committee on Members' Interests was considering whether to recommend censure or sanction against the TDs, on foot of a complaint by Fine Gael's Noel Rock and a member of the public.

It met privately for more than three hours but its deliberations will continue when it meets again in two weeks time.

The committee is constituted differently for inquiry into voting practices.

The chair is Sinn Féin's Aengus Ó Snodaigh - after Fine Gael TD Hildegarde Naughton recused herself for voting for colleagues who were elsewhere in the Dáil chamber. She has been replaced, solely for this inquiry, by colleague Bernard Durkan.

Deputy Ó Snodaigh is also a temporary replacement for his party colleague Jonathan O'Brien, who recused himself due to his strong criticism of the Fianna Fáil TDs.

This controversy erupted when it emerged that Fianna Fáil's Niall Collins had voted six times for his party colleague Timmy Dooley, who had left the Dáil chamber.

The two TDs, along with party colleagues Lisa Chambers and Barry Cowen, subsequently apologised to the Dáil for voting irregularities. 

It is open to the committee, which also includes Labour's Willie Penrose and Fianna Fáil's Eamon Scanlon, to dismiss the complaint, censure one or all of the TDs or to recommend a sanction - such as suspending them from the Dáil for a number of days. 

However, any sanction would have to be passed by the Dáil.

Additional reporting: Mícheál Lehane