The Dáil committee investigating the voting practices of four Fianna Fail TDs is set to elect a new chairperson.

Fine Gael TD Hildegarde Naughton recused herself last week after disclosing that she had voted for colleagues who were elsewhere in the Dáil chamber.

RTÉ News understands that Ms Naughton will be replaced temporarily on the Members' Interests Committee by Fine Gael colleague Bernard Durcan, while Sinn Féin's Aengus Ó Snodaigh will become its new chair. 

This controversy erupted when it emerged that Fianna Fáil's Niall Collins had voted six times for his party colleague Timmy Dooley, who had left the chamber.

The Dáil's Members' Interests Committee is the body that investigates such matters, but Ms Naughton has had to stand down as chair and Sinn Féin's Jonathan O'Brien has also stepped aside, due to criticisms of Fianna Fáil over the row.

Committee member and Independent TD Mattie McGrath, says he was opposed to any lengthy inquiry as it could last "a couple of years" and get "nowhere".

He argued that the committee already had a report on the matter commissioned by the Ceann Comhairle.

RTÉ News understands that once Mr Ó Snodaigh is elected chair, the committee will assess two complaints - one from Fine Gael TD Noel Rock and another from a member of the public that has been vetted by the Oireachtas. 

After considering legal advice, and if they decide it is warranted, the committee could recommend that TDs found to have acted against the rules would be suspended from the house for a number of days.

However, that would only come into effect if the Dáil approved it.