The Government's travel plans for St Patrick's Day have been announced, with Taoiseach Leo Varadkar set to make the traditional visit to meet US President Donald Trump in the White House in March.

The Taoiseach and his ministers will travel to 38 countries to promote Ireland around the world.

The Government agreed the travel plans today, with ministers set to emphasise this country's approach to Brexit and to build trade links across the globe.

There will also be a focus on Ireland's campaign to become a member of the UN Security Council in 2021.

Only one Cabinet Minister is staying home during the national holiday with Minister for Transport Shane Ross opting again to remain in the country.

Tánaiste Simon Coveney will visit China, while Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe will be in Argentina on St Patrick's Day.

Ministers Michael Ring and Heather Humphreys will travel to the USA along with Ministers of State David Stanton, Ciaran Cannon, Brendan Griffin and the Attorney General Seamus Wolfe.

Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan and Junior Health Minister Jim Daly will fly to Australia.

The Minister for Housing, Eoghan Murphy, is going to Japan while Minister for Communications Denis Naughten is scheduled to visit Canada.

The Independent Alliance Minister Kevin 'Boxer' Moran will travel to Kenya and his colleague Finian McGrath is going to the Czech Republic.