The Government has decided it will move three judges from the specialised Commercial Court dealing with insolvency cases to the Circuit Court.

Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald made the move to deal with existing vacancies that are causing difficulties in both the Circuit and District Courts.

There are three vacancies in the Circuit Court system and two in the District Court system with another two pending. 

The minister brought a memorandum to Cabinet proposing that the immediate problems in these two courts will be dealt with by reassigning three of the six existing Circuit Court specialist judges as ordinary judges of that court.

She is also moving to begin a process to fill the vacancies in the District Court system under the existing Judicial Appointments Advisory Board.

Meanwhile, the scheme of a bill in relation to judicial appointments will be ready this week and will be published by the end of January.

The bill, will underpin a commitment in the Programme for Government that there will be a lay chair and majority on the new commission to appoint judges.

There  will also be a reduction in numbers on the commission compared to the 11 on the
Judicial Appointments Advisory Board at present.