The Oireachtas banking inquiry has agreed the membership of an advisory group.

The group comprises specialists from the public and private sectors with knowledge and expertise in relation to the banking sector.

Committee Chairman Ciarán Lynch said all of the independent experts are working for the committee on a pro-bono basis.

He said the group had its first meeting yesterday when members were briefed on the work of the committee and the legal and procedural framework for the inquiry.

The group is to meet again on 11 July, 18 July and 22 July.

An interim report will be given to the committee at its meeting on 23 July so that a proposal for the inquiry will be ready for submission to the Committee on Procedure and Privileges of both Houses by 17 September, Mr Lynch said.

The members are: Pat Casey, Principal Officer at the Department of Finance; Paul Gorecki, Adjunct Professor of Economics, Trinity College Dublin (Research Affiliate ESRI); Megan Greene, Maverick Intelligence; economist Cathal Guiomard; Conor McCabe, Research fellow, UCD School of Social Justice; economist Colm McCarthy; Seamus McCarthy, Comptroller and Auditor General; Rafique Mottiar, Consultant Economist at the Central Bank; and John Shaw, Assistant Secretary at Department of the Taoiseach.