Retired High Court judge Bryan McMahon has been appointed as chairperson of the Referendum Commission for the forthcoming referendum on judges’ remuneration.

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government Phil Hogan announced the make-up of the commission today, and the Chief Justice Ms Justice Susan Denham nominated Judge McMahon.

The other members of the commission are: the comptroller and auditor general, John Buckley; the Ombudsman, Emily O'Reilly; the Clerk of the Dáil, Kieran Coughlan and the clerk of the Seanad, Deirdre Lane.

The principal function of the Referendum Commission is to prepare a statement containing a general explanation of the subject matter of the referendum proposal on judges' remuneration.

The Commission is required to publish this statement and distribute it, promote awareness of the referendum and encourage people to vote.