Former Fine Gael TD Deirdre Clune has become the first person to be deemed elected to the 24th Seanad.

Ms Clune was elected to the five-seat cultural and educational panel.

Ms Clune was defeated at the last General Election for the Dáil.

Fianna Fáil's Labhrás Ó Murchú and Thomas Byrne have also been elected.

The pair were elected on the 13th count.

Mr Byrne, a former TD for Meath East, lost out in the last Dáil election. He was also a candidate who made it on to Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin's list of preferred runners.

Labour's John Gilroy and Fine Gael's Michael Mullins have taken the last two seats on the panel.

The counting will now start on the agricultural panel.

There are 122 candidates contesting 43 out of the 60 seats in the vocational panel.

TDs, senators and councillors were entitled to vote in the contest, which was carried out by postal ballot.

Counting of votes for the six seats on the university panel begins tomorrow.

The remaining 11 are chosen by the Taoiseach.

The final outcome will be known on Friday night.